Today was apparently nature day, except for this:IMG_2454.JPG2 little heads popping out of a blanket means chilly morning cuddles! E smiles for pictures sometimes and C grimaces for pictures much of the time.

IMG_2455.JPG

Climbing fallen trees with little friends.

IMG_2473.JPG

E has been attempting to conquer this ladder all summer. Started in the spring and made me so nervous that I had to stand next to him the whole time. Finally today, he made it! I love moments like this, where you see all that determination and hard work pay off.

IMG_2480.JPG

Went to the creek. The boys tangled their poles on trees and each other about 28 times on the way down. E fished for 2 minutes then gave up. 1 minute later C let out a frustrated cry at another tangle, turned to me and shouted “The dam!” -inward gasp of oh no, I haven’t been discreet with my language- “broke down in the rain flood!”. Then he stopped fishing and went to repair his dam that was no longer between the big rocks.

IMG_2529.JPG

E’s serious face while he watches C.

IMG_2498.JPG

E’s angry face that I’m not holding his hand to help him walk in the water. Caught a good mouth bubble there too.

IMG_2521.JPG

Splashing boy, always desperately seeking someone to splash.

IMG_2507.JPG

Digging in the muck.

