I am very happy to report: I AM NOT IN LABOR TODAY. C’s birth one year ago today was the hardest and most amazing thing I’ve even done in my life. It set me off on the happiest, sleepiest, and busiest year I’ve lived so far.

But yes, DELIGHTFULLY, I will not be pushing a baby out of me tonight at 10:22 PM. I’ll just be remembering it and annoying telling everyone around me what it was like. I’ll be tickling my big 1 year old, chasing him around the house, and nursing and cuddling him to sleep.

Last year this was the scene:

C and I about one minute after he was born on our bed. We’re surrounded by J, doula, midwives, and my mom and sister. Photo by my sister Leah.

My sweet new boy.

C getting his first bath (he hated baths for about few months) and just generally looking cute and sleeping a lot.

And this is what things look like this year:

Um, J dressed C to match him 🙂

C eats his birthday cake, decorated to be dog like his doggie Sadie. Cause everyone knows babies love to devour their pets.

Life is amazing and gets better each and every day:)

“A baby will make love stronger, days shorter, nights longer, bankroll smaller, home happier, clothes shabbier, the past forgotten, and the future worth living for.” -Anonymous

