So recently, I made a stool 🙂 Hehe. Chuckle.

Okay, seriously: Recently, I recovered a stool/ottoman/bench thingie that I snatched from my mom’s garage sale a couple of weeks ago. Isn’t it ugly?? One leg was broken off and had a twisted and bent screw stuck in it. Plus the bench was pretty dirty from residing unused in my mom’s attic for 10+ years. All the better to work with since it was FREE! And yes, I decided to take on this casual, unneeded project even though I’ve already got 16,000 other projects in my house. You need a fun and easy project every once in a while, right?

 

So here’s how it went down:

  1. Take off the remaining 3 legs.
  2. Prime them.
  3. Give them 3 coats of yellow paint (from the laundry room project, which I also recently finished!).
  4. Screw on 3 legs.
  5. Pry bent screw from 4th leg.
  6. Vacuum underside of bench.
  7. Recover bench seat in garage sale fabric that is: “Eh, okay, I guess I’ll buy it though it’s not the prettiest fabric.”.
  8. Turn over bench after recovering and think: “Dang, I stapled the fabric on a tad crooked. Do I really care that much? Nah. Well… Yes? Yes. I guess I’ll just slightly regret my recovering work every time I look at the stool. Do you want to live with that regret? No. Do you want to pull out the staples and redo it? No. Okay, yeah, I can live with crooked.” Yep, I gave in to The Lazy.
  9. Get 2 new screws for sad brokenish leg.
  10. Put last leg on.
  11. Wonder where the heck will I put this thing? I STILL HAVE NO IDEA.

Here’s the end result:

Cute. Tolerable. Looks prettier in the pictures than real life maybe?

 

That’s my new cute-ish bench. Location in house TBD.

